Homeward Unbound- Chapter 6: Leaving My Tech Job, Nomad Life, and Re-thinking Reality

Anand Swamy
11 min readApr 28, 2022
Image by rihaanmeshal from Pixabay

A few months ago, I made the decision to leave my job. The factors and series of events were many that led to this calling, and untimely as it may seem to outward eyes, it was a yearning and timed perfectly for the sweet fruit of change was ripe for the picking.

I think much of life is a tug of war between what is within our control and what’s not.

Having a watchful eye on events outside of my control and being mindful to not be vested in their outcome has been important for my sanity.

This is what led me to the decisions I’ve made.

Today I will share 3 topics.

  1. Why I quit my job
  2. Full-time RV living
  3. Existential learnings

I hope the wisdom I uncover through my journey can find its way to you so it can enrich your life.

Leaving My Job

It wasn’t as much of a desire as it was a necessity to do this right now. My wife’s health hasn’t been the best, my mother passed away last year, and frankly, the desire to do something different with my life beckoned.

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied

--

--

Anand Swamy

I write about personal development and self awareness.