The Wisdom of Jerry Seinfeld — Timeless Lessons From a Comedic Legend

Anand Swamy
13 min readMay 18, 2021

I’m a late bloomer when it comes to the greatness of Jerry Seinfeld.

I didn’t watch my first episode of Seinfeld until 2020, some 30 years after its infancy.

I also never had potato dauphinoise until 2020. If you don’t know what that is, then I’m glad, because I may have just introduced you to one of the best dishes on Earth.

My admiration for Jerry Seinfeld started with the Netflix show, Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee.

He likes cars, he likes comedians, and he loves coffee. Why not make a show about it?

If only all of life’s decisions were this easy.

Perhaps they are, but we have made it a point to make it complex because we have intangible useless junk lodged in the tiny crevices of our Cabeza.

By the way, the storage industry is a multi-billion dollar industry housing tangible useless junk. If you don’t use it, why keep it?

Anyways, I love comedy and the brave comedians that practice this art.

They make observations and pour out their contempt and love for the world in a way that makes us think of everyday occurrences differently.

--

--

Anand Swamy

I write about personal development and self awareness.